flesh touching

IMG_2008During last weekend’s Hawaii yoga retreat, the instructor had taught us many group poses. Many of them were simply holding hands in a big circle, to feel the subtle waves of energy passing from one to another. In one of the poses, everyone started with one standing leg and one hand holding on to the big toe of the same side, and then everyone was to slowly extend the non-standing leg and use the free hand to touch the next person. Everyone soon figured out that if the free hand was used to help pushing up the next person’s foot, of course one of your own feet was being supported by your other neighbor’s hand at the same time, the pose would go into complete balance. It was a physical representation of “Help People, Help Yourself”.

In Hawaii I’d also noticed that there were a lot more togetherness, such as food and space sharing, and helping each other in group water sports like canoeing. I felt that my life had been too isolated.

Yesterday I went back to work, after very little sleep the night before, as we happened to have a new team member came aboard. I spent time with each member of the team and we talked a lot about team in various meetings. Last night I went to a birthday dinner party, and had a whole night of people interaction. So I would say that yesterday was a day spent with people, and with my new awareness of my solitude, I made extra effort to be involved. But it was far from enough.

In a perfect world, I would like to have friends who could come over to my place unannounced and I could do the same to them; that we don’t have so much Personal Space; that we have more hand-holding, energy-passing moments. In a perfect world…

Leave a Reply

