a way out

IMG_2017 - CopyI spent seven plus hours driving yesterday, but I was able to visit Getty Museum, see a good friend and get business done, so it was a long but productive day.

I had books from audible.com to listen to in the car. I have to say that audible does a great job in enticing me to buy more than what I subscribed monthly. For example, I had a dozen books already waiting to be read/heard on my iPhone, nevertheless I bought seven more books on Valentine’s day from them because they were having a big sale. With all these books, I was able to switch from book to book during my drive, and that had kept me alert.

One of the books was “How the Mind Works” by Steven Pinker. It says, and I’m paraphrasing here, that when we finish a book, we don’t remember the sentences or the fonts or the words, we only remember the concept or the story of the book. If that were the case, why do I bother with this blog? I can just go ahead and write my book without using the blog to practice my writing. Ha! Only ten days into this blog, I’ve already discovered the perfect way out. Am I a genius or what?

Ignorance is really a blessing sometimes. If I haven’t read so much, I would probably be writing my book and it might be interesting and popular anyway because of the story. But I know I’m not there yet. I want to deliver the story properly. When I read nowadays, I pay attention not only to the storyline and logic, but also to the way the story was told and the words and sentences used to bring readers into the story. By doing so, I garner more pleasure from reading. Similarly, because I have been spending time painting, drawing and photographing in the last two years, along with some classroom learning, I found I could enjoy the paintings and photography in Getty Museum so much more than before.

The most important thing is not the goal, it’s the process. And it is the journey that we rejoice.

Leave a Reply

