panda eyes

These days I only go to sleep at the point of exhaustion, most time at 1, sometimes at 3 or 4. I still wake up 6 or 7 and try to go to work whenever I feel like it, usually somewhere between 8 and 11. Thankfully my work schedule is flexible. Each morning my reflection in the mirror shows two big panda eyes helplessly looking back at me.

I felt somewhat accomplished when I recorded my reading list last night. After all, I hold a job, and still finding time to read many books, attend art school, write novel, travel to many countries and try a lot of new things. But when I shared that sense of pride with hubby, he just tilted his head and said, “Accomplished? You? ”

The fact is that hubby is a believer of the 10,000 hours theory, that it takes 10,000 hours to achieve mastery in any given skill or profession. And for the last few years, he has been focusing on playing the piano, and for exercises, tennis. Although he’s good at golf and gazillions of other things, he chose to focus his effort in one or two things instead of spreading himself thin.

I’m the polar opposite. I’m interested in everything and want to dabble in everything. It’s the reason that I’m not good at anything, and also the reason for the lack of sleep. Well, no-self-discipline might be a better explanation for the lack of sleep…

But that is who I am. I was delighted to have the following exchange with Getty.

 

And last night when I created a PowerPoint slide for work, it looks so artistic and contemporary, I surely was not able to do it a couple of years ago. So all the art education, practice and appreciation are paying off in unexpected places.

Which way is right? I don’t know. But I do need to sleep more.

Author’s note: Mended Post. Post-stamped 1 day earlier.

One thought on “panda eyes

  1. Pingback: reminiscences | 365 grains of rice

Leave a Reply

