seeing the world

IMG_5115When my travel took me to Cambodia in 2010, I visited Siem Reap area and Angkor War. It was the second to the last stop of the journey, and my camera by then had run out of memory space, so I took pictures with my phone. I didn’t have an iPhone then, but the pictures still came out great.

I wanted to purchase a photo book, as the scenery was breathtaking, and that I doubted I’d be back there anytime soon. As I flipped through many photo books in the shop, one caught my attention – not for the extraordinary images within, but for the lack of them. In the forward section, the photographer said that he avoided using extra pixels or post processing so that the photos would be as close to what the naked eyes could see. I ended up buying the book, because I agreed with the photographer and thought his book would be the most accurate way for me to remember the Cambodia I saw.

Yet, even my phone camera was able to produce fantastic, better than reality photos. Mind you, it was only 2010.

Photographs “as is” without any enhancements by the camera or post processing software seem dull to me nowadays. Of course there are times when the camera cannot capture the beauty of the world, especially in extreme light conditions and in places where the other four senses are exercised excessively in additional to vision. And there are times when the photos snapped under “automatic” mode are simply perfect with no post processing needed. But by in large, some editing can make the photo better. And sometimes, it can make a “bad” photo interesting and appealing again.

All of this takes virtually no time. The tool I use most is Picasa, and very rarely I use lightroom 4. I have heard and seen amazing things done in Photoshop, but I have not yet attempted, for worrying that I would spend too much time in front of a computer. God knows I have spent enough time in front of the screen as is.

For the one month or so that I’m online, only 20% of the photos I’ve uploaded were without post processing. Sometimes I wonder, when someone “likes” a post of mine, did they like the photo or the content of the post? While this is not a photo blog, I’m having tremendous fun posting post-processed pictures, such as this one. The original would have been thrown into the “trash” folder, but I rather fond of this post-processed version. It could even be used as a book cover, I think.

Who says seeing the world through the colored lenses is not a good thing?

Leave a Reply

