translation attempt

Honored or humiliated
I’m not taken aback,
Leisurely I observe
the blooming and falling of the flowers
in front of my chamber;
Leave or stay
I do not care,
Easily I go with
the tightening and smoothening of the cloud
in the sky beyond.

I came across this Chinese poem today, written (or first published, I’m not certain) during the beginning of the 1600s, and I was completely blown away by its beauty and wisdom. The above is my first attempt of translating it into English.

宠辱不惊,闲看庭前花开花落;去留无意,漫随天外云卷云舒

Leave a Reply

