camp nanowrimo

The writing camp is starting in 1 day, and there are currently 26,472 users online.

What is this all about? You can look it up at campnanowrimo.org. Basically, in addition to November, the National Novel Writing Month, the marvelous Nanowrimo.org is hosting a similar event in April. The only difference between the camp event and the normal November event is, in the camp event each writer can define his/her own goal, and in the normal November event each fiction must be 50,000 words or longer.

But I’m not sure I’m ready for April yet. I’m not yet ready to close the chapter on Q1. Plus, I think I need another 50,000 words, which means 1,667 words a day. It could take me 2~3 hours on a good day, but 9+ hours on a bad day. Although I successfully completed 50,000 words (the first half of the book) last November, I don’t know I can do it again.

I don’t have a camp mate yet. Hopefully when I wake up tomorrow morning I’m assigned a cabin. Even so, I don’t know whether I can do it. Having done it once, the task just seemed too daunting to do it once again.

In any event, I want to give myself enough leeway to ameliorate possibility of success, so I decided to have “super light” blog entries for the month of April. Maybe it will contain only 3 things:

• a photo of any kind
• # of words written that day
• exercise/work out done during the day

As I said, super light!
camp

Leave a Reply

